Rev. Wright disparages his own color

Lost in all of the crazy comments made by Wright before the National Press Club is this statement made at the end of his comments about the Nation of Islam leader. 

“Louis Farrakhan, is not my enemy.  He didn’t put me in chains; he didn’t put me in slavery, and he didn’t make me this color.”  

Is Reverend Jeremiah Wright saying that his enemies made him “this color?”  Is he saying God is his enemy? 

 As he pretends to defend the Black Church, is he criticizing being black?  Is this some evidence of internalized self-hatred? 

 I do not know the answers to these questions, and perhaps no one will save Wright’s future psychologist, should he make the wise decision and seek help.  

2 Responses to “Rev. Wright disparages his own color”

  1. It was such a wierd comment. It struck me that one the first time I heard it. But he said it with a real twinkle in the eye which makes me wonder if he was just being provocative for its own sake.

  2. plinynovo Says:

    Agreed. I saw the twinkle in his eye as well. I still do not quite understand it – but I have talked with many people and most see it as some sort of internalized self hate. WHich might explain a lot.

Leave a Reply

